Last two East Hampshire District Council Liberal Democrat councillors join Conservatives

By Post in Local People

THE LAST remaining Liberal Democrat councillors on East Hampshire District Council (EHDC) have joined the Conservatives.

It means that all 44 councillors on the council are now Conservative.

Councillors Sally Pond, Whitehill Chase ward, and Alan Waterhouse, Whitehill, Pinewood, made the decision after supporting the strategy of cutting council tax while still preserving frontline services.

Cllr Pond, the defeated Lib Dem candidate in the recent Hampshire County Council elections, said: “I made this decision because I believe it is with the Conservatives that we can all work together to achieve the inspiring aims for Whitehill and Bordon.

“I have seen how hard the district councillors work for collective benefit and am looking forward to playing an even greater part in it.”

Cllr Waterhouse, who was leader of the Liberal Democrat group on the district council, added: “I am happy to join the Conservatives because I support its strategy regarding council tax and its business like approach to building for the future.

“I think it’s in the best interests of the town that we all work together to deliver what the community deserves.”

EHDC leader, Cllr Ferris Cowper said: ‘I am thrilled that Sally and Alan are joining us. Sally is a first rate planner and as a Conservative she is now well placed to influence many aspects of the Development Management process at EHDC.

“Alan has a long history of community engagement in Whitehill and Bordon and he will obviously have a vital role in continuing to keep the townsfolk well briefed on developments and also feeding back their concerns to the administration.

“The capability of the EHDC Conservatives has not just improved by two new members, it has also improved in quality with these two talented and very well respected councillors.”

Chairman of East Hampshire Liberal Democrats Michael Croucher said:

“We are disappointed by the actions of Sally Pond and Alan Waterhouse. They campaigned on our manifesto for the elections to Hampshire County Council on May 4 and were supported by their loyal colleagues.”

The defection to the EHDC Conservatives by Cllrs Pond and Waterhouse follows a similar switch by former Lib Dems Adam Carew and Tony Muldoon.